top of page

Merry Everything – Thoughts on Mary’s birth


This doula Blog-a-thon has been fun and challenging so far. I’ve had to do some funny things to stay with my every other day plan (I mean, I’m currently at a party being “that girl” in the corner who blogs at parties), but It has been a fun challenge to get ideas out of my head and consistently out into the void. The idea that a couple people may have found benefit in my thoughts and opinions on birth is super exciting. I think I’m hooked on staying dedicated to myself and my goal of contributing to the dialogue surrounding the way we have our babies. There'll be a couple more posts to finish out the month, then please stay tuned beyond this December for what happens next (subscribe, y’all).

So, it’s December 25th. We all know Jesus wasn’t born today and Mary was actually blessed with a more hospitable clime than a blizzard to give birth in. But since many choose this day of solar resurrection to commemorate Jesus’ birth and love him very much, I figured I’d tout my appreciation of Mary and her birthing prowess a tiny bit here – to be explored in more detail later.

Mary, Mother of Jesus…had an unassisted birth! You knew I was going to go there. She was sustained and guided by her faith and intuition through her important journey to motherhood. I must say those two things – faith and intuition – were the highlight of my own intuitive births and so many others’. I don’t think you have to be religious or a high profile a mother like Mary to benefit from the gift and safety of intuition. I don’t believe she was blessed with safety because of her closeness to G-d and the rest of us have diminished access to a perfect birth and have to be rescued. Honestly, I believe Mary’s birth to Jesus was blessed because she was allowed to be alone, to have faith in her body’s design with beings that honored her and her journey. To me, she is an example, a template of how all us sacred portals (mommas) are supposed to give birth to our precious cargo.

Yeah, that’s what I think. And now I’m going back to the party to make a few more people uncomfortable by awkwardly rerouting our conversation to exactly what I’ve typed above.

Merry Everything, may this time of year bring you closer to your true self, loved ones, new ideas and good food!

Much Love Always!

Zuri Sabir, CD-B/P

bottom of page