top of page

From blue to Blue Lady Jewelry Co.


This is my third blog post... Time enough for me to bare a significant part of my soul journey, huh?

Yes... I believe we transcend only when we descend, and that our darkest depths purify us. Understanding, accepting and evolving our darkest attributes releases us from fear for ultimate motivation and realization of purpose. I trust the darkness of my hard experiences as they are a reflection of my deepest wounds ripe for healing. Harvesting the lessons of pain has brought me to every new beginning that has been worthwhile in my 30 years.

Nearly three years ago, pregnant, forcibly separated from my other two children and utterly alone, I finally turned away from domestic abuse and an eight year marriage rife with pain. I walked my tired and bruised body across the threshold of a domestic abuse shelter trusting the feeling of free-fall I felt in my gut. When I finally lay down that night I remember a sense of joy engulfing me! The dark room surrounded me like a womb and I welcomed a chance for peace, rejuvenation and a fresh start. I don’t think I moved for an entire 24 hours. No one made me. I had no obligations. I just rested and cried. It felt so good.

When I finally peeked out of my room (the baby in my belly was having no more of my rest/fast), I was met with smiles and understanding. It’s one of the few times I’ve felt truly seen and unconditionally supported. It was in this space of safety that I stayed for over a month.

It was in one of these secure and cozy afternoons that my healing heart reached my hands to jewelry making. I had begun to design and make jewelry years earlier with a dear friend who bought my first set of tools (Ironically during a different, failed attempt to leave abuse – women who have experienced abuse know it takes many tries to learn to value self) but hadn’t thought to create in a long while. The relief I felt to be using my hands in productive ways was almost decadent. I began to sell earrings while I was in the shelter to friends and family and eventually on Etsy in gift sets alongside my good friend’s handmade cards.

The name Blue Lady Jewelry Co. came from a doodle I drew one night at the shelter in blue pen ink of a confident woman. My hair at the time was the same superman blue and I identified with the image as myself sometime in the future after much healing. I am happy to say that as I launch my solo shop on Etsy as “the Blue Lady” and rekindle my doula and arts businesses, I am steadily advancing on that confident woman. I am happy, grasping opportunity and the strings of a beautiful destiny. And my hair is still blue!

If you are interested in viewing some of my existing jewelry designs please visit Blue Lady Jewelry Co. on Etsy. For inquiries about how I can create birth jewelry with your favorite natural stones or transforming beaded heirlooms for meaningful adornment, please inquire using the contact form on this site!

Thank you for reading, Much love always!

Zuri Sabir, CD-B/P

bottom of page